Skip to content

Clean and Clear – And Under Control?

June 26, 2011

When a few goodies from Clean and Clear arrived in my letterbox, I was faced with a few clashing emotions. Firstly, memories of being 11 years old and having my first experiences with cleanser, toner and moisturiser (oh how you’ve changed my life!) came flooding back, as well as the new me thinking, “ummm, I have totally moved on from my Clean and Clear days!”

I must admit, with my own skin I do tend to use more expensive, natural and active-ingredient-packed products, such as vitamins A and C, rosehip oil and lactic and glycolic acid. I’m not one to use products that list off long chemical sounding words as ingredients. I used to be all about the pretty packaging (which is still something I look for, but not the only thing), but now the bright oranges and green-blues of the new Clean and Clear range do also somewhat put me off.

My boyfriend, on the other hand, has much more resilient skin than I. And he also takes what he can get – when I give him freebies, he loves them! So, I dutifully handed over his new goods – but thought I must try them myself to accurately blog about them.

So I did.

My philosophy is that anything I’m leaving on my skin, (and that can sink in) I will use natural-based products where possible. So there was no way I was about to use my trusty old Clean and Clear moisturiser. No matter how good it smells. But instead I tried theMorning Burst Facial Scrub, (RRP $10.99), an almost obnoxiously orange tube, filled with citrusy-smelling gel and micro-beads that promise to ‘wake up your skin!’

And that it does.

This is not a scrub I would recommend using for long periods of time.

My skin felt like it was definitely ‘woken up’ – but not necessarily in a good way. It felt cold, like I could feel the smallest breeze as a freezing gale. A bit wierd. And probably due to the exomethanol-acol-ralol-amene in it.

As a general rule, when it comes to skincare, whatever ingredients are listed first are in their highest concentration in the tube. And a lot of exo-methane type words mean only one thing – chemicals. I don’t know about you, but they’re not my favourite thing to put on my face. I haven’t yet tried the Deep Action In-Shower Facial (RRP $10.79), and I’m not sure I want to.

I’ll keep progress on how the BF’s skin is looking though. I guess the good thing about Clean and Clear is that it’s cheap, and it will yield results. So it’s a good range to start your skincare routine with (hello, look where it lead me to!!), and if you suffer from teenage acne it’s likely to help clear up your skin. But I wouldn’t recommend it to anybody over the age of 17 who is serious about skincare.

Pros

*It’s cheap

*It will provide results, if you have oily, congested, typical teenage skin (or are a mid twenties male!)

*It looks pretty in your bathroom

*It’s a great intro to skincare for teenagers, and will hopefully instil great skincare habits that will stick for life

*Progress report: the BF’s skin is looking Clean and Clear! (see what I did there??)

Cons

*If you skin is sensitive and/or dry – steer clear! It will be much too harsh and drying on your skin

*It’s not a long-term product that I would recommend to people who want not only instant results but long term benefit

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2011 2:05 am

    So a happy BF then – not a bad outcome at all! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. The Dream Team « One Fabulous Day

Leave a Reply

