Skip to content

The Super Hydrators

March 5, 2011

I have a rather lovely Sunday night ritual. And even though it requires me showering twice, it is totally worth it. It is my way of winding down after a long week and usually hectic weekend, and restoring and readying myself for the busy week ahead. I am currently mid-way through my Sunday night treat, sitting on the couch with a face mask and hair mask applied, (looking a bit weird, but super relaxed).

I’m a bit of a skincare Nazi, and often declare that I am preserving my face, so that I will still look as youthful as I do today at the age of 90. And I am certainly doing my damndest to make sure that is true! So what is the most important part of an anti-ageing skincare routine? Hydration. You can’t get past it. I promise you, as soon as your skin is dehydrated – that’s when you notice fine lines appearing. So start hydrating yourself – immediately!

A few tips on face and body hydration…

  • Exfoliate regularly, about once every four days. After exfoliating, make sure you liberally apply a moisturiser. Once a week, after exfoliating, give your skin an extra boost with a face mask. (I’m actually using two masks right now – Living Nature Hydrating Gel Mask for hydration around my eye and cheek area, and Clarins Pure and Radiant Clay Mask on my chin for clearing any blocked pores. So don’t think you can only tackle one problem at a time).
  • On a daily basis you should moisturise your body, this is best done after showering. A great body moisturiser that I am loving at the moment is Aveeno Stress Relief Moisturising Lotion – it contains colloidal oatmeal (super hydrating), lavender, chamomile and ylang-ylang essential oils. These oils are calming and relaxing, and I love applying this before I go to bed.
  • Your hands are often forgotten about, so it is always nice to keep a hydrating hand cream in your hand bag, at your desk, and next to your bed. Waterlily Lemongrass and Green Tea hand cream doubles as a body crème as well which is always a bonus.
  • And my absolute favourite, fail-proof tip comes in the form of my nightly moisturiser, which I believe I would actually die without. Rosehip Oil. In any way, shape or form, this is truly a magical product. Endota Spa does a great 100% Organic Rosehip Oil. If you don’t use any of my other hydration tips, this is the one you must use. Trust me.  It might take a bit of getting used to, putting oil onto your face, but this is definitely a winner.

Living Nature Super Hydrating Mask with Harekeke, (from NZ – the homeland!) RRP $50

Aveeno Stress Relief Moisturising Cream, RRP $12.99

Waterlily Body and Bath Lemongrass and Green Tea Hand Cream, RRP $42. You have to visit a day spa to pick one of these up – but that’s not always a bad thing, right?

Endota Spa Organic Rosehip Oil, RRP $23. The Holy Grail of all skincare routines. I kid you not.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Steve permalink
    March 6, 2011 8:45 pm

    You’ll always be beautiful, no matter what age………..xx

Leave a Reply

