Skip to content

Always a Betty, Sometimes a Joan

January 5, 2011

I believe my twitter pal @hollyjcurtis actually coined this term, (and it actually went Sometimes a Joan, but always a Betty), and so as I write this I am hoping she isn’t speedily typing the same thing as me right now on her blog.

Don’t look so confused. I have a reason for my banter. I sparked a small ‘Are you a Betty or a Joan’ conversation on Twitter (really between just myself and aforementioned Twitter pal, but who knows how many other girls are now asking themselves this question, or slamming their fists down as they affirm which female character they align themselves with). And please don’t be asking, ‘uhmmm… Who are these Bettys and Joans you speak of?’

I’m talking Mad Men, people. Since I have lived alone while my man-friend is out of town, I have grown an unhealthy addiction to this show. And Gossip Girl, but let’s not also get into the ‘Are you a Blair, Serena, Vanessa or Little J’ conversation as well. (Realistically, who’s going to say they’re a Little J?)

But how amazing are these women on Mad Men? Their clothes, their makeup; immaculate, perfect and beautiful. They inspire me to dress better each morning. They make me want to paint my face like a little porcelain doll each day when I go to work.

The immaculate Betty Draper

The seductive Joan Holloway

The hair, the makeup, the clothes – amazing! But do you want to be Betty homemaker, or single Joan living it up with all the men in the office? I’m still undecided about which character I am in love with more, and who’s style I most love to replicate, but as my heading would suggest, I am leaning more towards that of Betty. But then again, I like to take inspiration from Joan every now and then too.

And may I say this, but daaaaaaaamn don’t they make smoking look cool.

Thank you for your image

Thank you for your image

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2011 11:28 am

    Yup, you summed it up perfectly! Generally my heart lurches for Betty when I see her immaculately pin curled hair, twin set pearls and amazing waist-cinching dresses – but sometimes you just need to vamp it up with some bottom and bosom a la Joan! A smokin’ hot red lippy doesn’t hurt either 😉

  2. January 5, 2011 11:48 am

    I’d love to be Joan, but I am so Betty.

    “You’re a housecat. Very important with not much to do.”

  3. January 6, 2011 6:40 am

    It seems most girls would say they’re mostly a Betty! What does that say about us!!??

  4. Emily permalink
    January 17, 2011 4:21 am

    Peggy all the way! with maybe a little Joan mixed in. Definitely not a Betty.

Trackbacks

  1. Jessi Arrington: wearing nothing new « One Fabulous Day
  2. Gossip Girl: Serena vs. Blair « One Fabulous Day

Leave a Reply

