Skip to content

Books, No TV and Me

November 29, 2010

Since moving to Melbourne, and settling into our own sweet apartment, I’ve lived without a TV. I was overruled by Maestro (my boyfriend, a musician, here-within fondly referred to as Maestro) who was absolutely adamant that we shall live happily without a talking box. But what will I do in my spare time? I secretly wondered, while outwardly agreeing that this was a great idea. (Please don;t get the wrong idea about our relationship here. If I really wanted a TV I would’ve got one. Read on.)

At first I was a bit apprehensive about not having a TV. Back in the day, I enjoyed nothing more than sitting down on the couch, in front of the TV, with a plate of some kind of tasty snack, and relaxing after a hard day’s work. But I came to realise, after not having a TV, that life really goes on without it, and it is actually quite nice not having to suffer through ads all the time. Plus, I’ve had a a lot more time to write, and also, dredge up a favourite past time of (gasp! shock, horror!) reading! I’d actually forgotten how much I love to read! I literally spend all my free time either reading, or writing, or watching things I actually want to watch on my laptop (hello, Chelsea Lately, who’s interviews I’m heavily addicted to, and a very mint copy of Gossip Girl Season 2). Not having a TV might just be the best thing I’ve ever done.

See, there’s my two very new copies of GG, season 2 and 3, which I am oh-so-excited about, plus my almost finished latest read, which I am not so excited about (the finishing it part). I need a new book!

Any suggestions?

Another great novel I just finished was Freedom by Jonathon Franzen. If anybody is looking for a recommendation, there’s mine. SUCH a good read.

So please, if you have any good book suggestions, drop me a line. I’m on the hunt. Thanks!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

