Skip to content

Tan in a Can

November 26, 2010

I’ve never been one for faux-tanning. When I was 18 years old I spent a summer working in a tanning salon (the kind with the sunbeds) and I became ‘tanorexic’. Ever since then I’ve been trying to undo all those hours of damage I inflicted on my poor skin. But recently, I’ve looked in the mirror and thought, ‘oooo, this top might really look nicer if my skin had a bit of a glow’ – so I’ve set out in search of the perfect fake tan. One of my most fabulous girlfriends and I decided we’d have an afternoon of it, and boy did we have a good time. The afternoon in question consisted of fake tan, ice-cold pear cider, sunshine, music,  wine, and hair dye. A great time was had by all.

We thought, to be fair, we’d try out a different tan each, so we could let you know just what we thought of them. That way you can avoid buying duds and go straight for the big guns, next time you’re at Priceline. (And, can I tell you how much I love that place. It is like a supermarket, devoted solely to the cosmetics aisle. And there is more than one of them. Like heaven.)

Anyway, so Halie took Pure Bronze Tanning Foam in ‘Dark Tanning’ (she scoffed when I first handed her the tan for light/medium tanning. This girl doesn’t do things by halves.) And I took ModelCo Tan Mousse (also a foam tan). We started with a good full body exfol each, then gloved up (either the Pure Tan Pro Mitt or ModelCo Tan Mitt is essential to getting the no-streak look with this foam-y consistency) and away we went. Halie (an expert in faux tanning) was very surprised and delighted with the ease of application the mitt gave her, as she said she was a bit hesitant at first when she saw the foam. The application of both products was easy and fast.

Pure Bronze Tanning Foam in Dark Tanning

ModelCo Tan Mousse

How did they rate against each other? Well, they were pretty similar. Halie loved the Pure Bronze, and couldn’t get over how easy it was to apply and the fact that you can shower just an hour after application. I, on the other hand, thought I needed a second coating of my Modelco tan. (I told you I was tanorexic, though.) I think in reality, both tans were as good as each other, I’d almost go as far as saying they’re almost the exact same product, just in different packaging! But, if you’re looking for a new fake tan, go the foam! But remember, you must get a mitt to apply with as well! Otherwise, good luck.

Pure Tan Pro Mitt

I tried to be good and top up my tan on a nightly basis, with Nivea Summer Beauty, but of course I quickly tired of this time-consuming ritual (I’m all about the face, body moisturising takes so long.) and then my tan obviously faded.

Nivea Summer Beauty

Any other thoughts, in regards to either of these tans?

– Application is super easy

– However the Mitt is essential

– There is no ‘fake tan smell’ at first, which the can proudly states. It does turn up the next morning though. (Which the can happens to not mention.)

– The colour is nice and natural looking, definitely not orange!

All in all, I’d say both of these baby’s are winners!

Happy tanning,

Romy xo

Leave a Reply

