Skip to content

Intention

October 27, 2010

Setting your intention is quite possibly the most important thing you can do every day. Each day, you should decide what your intention is, and set about to achieve. You don’t even have to intentionally (for lack of a better word) set out to achieve, rather just set the intention in your mind, thus setting the forces of the universe in motion. Comprende?

Sometimes it is too easy to get lost in the speed of the days, weeks and months, and before you know it, your life is running at a million miles per minute and you have no grasp on your own reality. You are simply going through the motions of your routine, wondering how Monday suddenly becomes Friday, and then all too quickly we are saying hello through bleary eyes to Monday again. Sound familiar? I’m sure it does, and trust me, you are not alone in this one.

So this is why your intention, and setting it, and setting about to achieve it, is so vitally important. For example, I by no means at all am putting myself on a pedestal here, as I find myself day after day falling into the same routine as most people. But I have always wanted to write. And I do – very sporadically. So now, as an on-off blogger, I am picking up my relationship with my laptop where I left off and setting my intention, tonight, to continue to blog and write and write some more, until I am living the abundant life I only dream of my writing gracing me with. But I have set my intention. So, now all I can do is wait for the universe to provide. Because it certainly will. This doesn’t mean I can set my intention, switch off my computer, drink a few cups of tea and suddenly become a world-renowned writer. Oh no. I have to work at it, (unfortunately, as you can all probably sympathise with, whilst working a full time job at the same time) but now I can do it with the confidence that I have set my intention and I am working towards a purpose. My Purpose.

Here’s a quick list for you to take away from my little piece of the pie on setting your intentions, so hopefully my words aren’t going totally to waste:

1)  Stop. Realise you are just going through the motions, take a few moments to sit by yourself and contemplate what you really are trying to achieve with your days.

2) Write a list. I am a list fanatic. Give me a piece of paper and a pen, tell me to list anything, and I’m happy. But lists are actually really helpful; list what you enjoy doing and work out which of these things you want to achieve first.

3) Take a walk outside. Go to the beach; I find this is a super inspiring place to contemplate my life.

4) Once you’ve decided on your ‘goal’ (for lack of a better word, again), hold this in your mind. Say it to yourself out loud. Tell yourself that this is your intention, and you are going to achieve it.

5) Every day, repeat your mantra to yourself. Keep repeating your intention, and make sure the universe hears you. The universe is always listening (so you don’t have to shout!)

Romy

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

