Skip to content

Hair Love

September 6, 2010

For as long as I can remember, I have had trouble with my scalp. I don’t have dandruff – none of that oily flaking that needs harsh chemicals to dry it out and stop it occurring. Oh no. My scalp is about the opposite. And since I arrived in Melbourne it has gotten worse – probably because I left my amazing, salon-purchased, Kerastase shampoo at home in NZ, and have been using crappy, chemical-laden shampoo from the supermarket. So, I’ve been washing my hair with supermarket shampoo, and after every wash, I’d find my scalp would feel almost burnt. It would scream at me, itching, tight and dry. I knew I had to do something about it, so I went on a little mission (not really a mission, more like an enjoyable stroll down the road) to a lovely hair salon called Organika Hair. Here I was introduced to the beautiful and amazing and life saving shampoo and conditioner, qaba. Qaba is made in Melbourne, and is a natural alternative to shampoo and conditioner. It contains so SLS’s (which I blame for my extremely bad reactions) and has loads of nice organic ingredients in it. Both the receptionists warned me that I may think it wasn’t working when I used it (as it doesn’t foam, foaming is due to the SLS’s) – but the result, after blowdrying, is the softest, shiniest, and itch-free hair and scalp I have ever had in my life. It’s so amazing I knew I had to write a blog about it.

So, a message from me, to anyone out there who suffers from bad allergies to normal shampoo and conditioners: switch to a natural alternative (I’ve tried a couple, but qaba is the best by far) and you shall have the best scalp and hair of your life. Seriously, I’ve never felt so confident in my hair and scalp! I am in love.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 2:36 am

    Can we get this wonder product in Auckland?

  2. October 4, 2010 9:54 am

    Wow sounds great We’re constantly preaching about avoidance of SLS in personal care products and your experience is proof that they must be avoided. Will have to check out this shampoo.

Leave a Reply

