Skip to content

What, Where, Why and How

August 29, 2010

These eternal questions constantly plague my existence. What am I going to have for breakfast? What am I going to wear today? What do I want to do with my life? Where do I want to live? How can I make what I want to make happen? (when I figure out what it is,) Why do I bane myself with these unanswerable questions, and expect to get an easy answer? Usually, when stuck with one of these eternally probing questions, Mum has the answer. This point can be proven with a right mess I got myself in just a few days ago, with my first job offer in my new land. Let me set the scene.

I’ve now been in Melbourne three weeks, and though loving have not a care in the world and zero responsibility, the thought of needing a place to call my own (rather than the not-quite-comfortable-but-so-thankful-for mattress on the floor of my great friends’ lounge) meant I needed to start thinking about a way of generating an income to sustain myself in my new abode. So, after being shown what looked like a great job application at a day spa just down the road, I applied for the job and quickly was hired. Somehow I agreed to working Sundays. What was I thinking. I was given my roster, noted I was working four straight weekends in a row, but consoled myself with the fact that I would be getting three glorious days off, rather than the standard two. No matter that I’d be spending them alone, while my new friends all frolicked together when I was at work. I was also asked to start the very next day.

That was me, upon waking at 6am in a panic the day I was supposed to start at work. I woke to adrenalin coursing through my entire body, panicking that I had signed my life away. I questioned why I was agreeing to what had been asked of me, why I was second guessing myself, what should I do? I woke my boyfriend up, who was no help at all. He could only see all the bonuses of this job; a steady and rather good income, a free gym membership, an awesome location – but they still didn’t outweight my nagging feeling of doubt. So I skyped my mum. Good old mum. She reminded me that I am employable, that I don’t have to take the first job that comes my way, and if I hate it already then why start? Thanks mum. Life-saver. So obviously, I didn’t take the job, and felt a huge weight lift off my shoulders. And guess what – that day, my luck kept going on the up. I scored myself a sweet part time job, so I have at least a small but steady income, and can get something else to balance my extra free hours. Though really, I’m rather enjoying dictating my life and treading my path that I am entirely creating myself at the moment. I’ve even finally figured out what I want to ‘be when I grow up’. I think. Well, one of the things anyway. Woohoo!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2010 9:15 am

    I LOVE the eye! And I loved the whole story – laughed til I nearly fell off my stool!

Leave a Reply

